Hay and Pasture Crops Are Eligible for Hurricane Florence Disaster Program

— Written By
en Español

El inglés es el idioma de control de esta página. En la medida en que haya algún conflicto entre la traducción al inglés y la traducción, el inglés prevalece.

Al hacer clic en el enlace de traducción se activa un servicio de traducción gratuito para convertir la página al español. Al igual que con cualquier traducción por Internet, la conversión no es sensible al contexto y puede que no traduzca el texto en su significado original. NC State Extension no garantiza la exactitud del texto traducido. Por favor, tenga en cuenta que algunas aplicaciones y/o servicios pueden no funcionar como se espera cuando se traducen.

English is the controlling language of this page. To the extent there is any conflict between the English text and the translation, English controls.

Clicking on the translation link activates a free translation service to convert the page to Spanish. As with any Internet translation, the conversion is not context-sensitive and may not translate the text to its original meaning. NC State Extension does not guarantee the accuracy of the translated text. Please note that some applications and/or services may not function as expected when translated.

Collapse ▲
hay bale

Chatham County hay field. Photo by Debbie Roos.

Press release written by Matt Poore, NC State Extension.

Pasture-based livestock producers within eligible counties with damage to standing forage as a result of Hurricane Florence and/or Tropical Storm Michael are eligible for the Hurricane Florence Agricultural Disaster Program of 2018. Applications are being taken until December 10, 2018, for the program. All crops are covered under the program including forages standing in hay fields and pasture for grazing livestock. The program does not cover loss of hay that was already harvested, but rather covers any forage that was standing in the field at the time of the storm. To be eligible for the program the farmer needs to start their application prior to December 10 but will have time after that to complete the application process.  To complete the process they will need to have a USDA FSA 578 form which is the standard crop acreage report. Farmers with only grazing livestock often do not file an annual 578 form. In that case, FSA will allow for a late filing of the report with a small (usually less than $50) late fee. To start your application you can go to the website or contact your local extension office for assistance.

Eligible counties as of December 6, 2018 include:  Alamance, Alleghany, Anson, Ashe, Avery*, Beaufort, Bertie, Bladen, Brunswick, Cabarrus, Carteret, Caswell, Chatham, Columbus, Craven, Cumberland, Dare, Davidson, Davie*, Durham, Duplin, Forsyth*, Franklin*, Granville, Greene, Guilford, Harnett, Hoke, Hyde, Johnston, Jones, Lee, Lenoir, Madison, McDowell, Montgomery, Moore, Nash, New Hanover, Onslow, Orange, Pamlico, Pender, Person, Pitt, Polk, Randolph, Richmond, Robeson, Rockingham*, Rowan, Sampson, Scotland, Stanly, Stokes*, Surry*, Tyrrell, Union, Vance*, Wake*, Warren*, Washington*, Watauga*, Wayne, Wilson, Yadkin*, Yancey

* Means disaster declaration is pending. Producers in these pending counties are encouraged to apply.